91-day T-bill8.750%▲ 0.002
182-day T-bill8.851%▼ 0.008
364-day T-bill9.029%▲ 0.002
Central Bank Rate8.75%07/10/2026
Inflation6.8%September 2026
Top MMF yield10.46%Madison
Sources: CBK auction, 2 Nov 2026 value date (change vs 26 Oct); CBK key rates; fund managers' published yields, as at 2 Nov 2026.

Absa vs Co-op Bank 2026: Loan Rates Compared

Absa vs Co-op Bank 2026: Loan Rates Compared

Updated 29 October 2026

Updated October 2026. Absa vs Co-op Bank: on the Central Bank of Kenya’s August 2026 bank-by-bank table, Absa lent at an average of 13.83% a year and Co-op Bank at 15.01%, against a market average of 14.34%. That makes Absa the cheaper borrower’s bank on average by 1.18 percentage points. Below we compare Absa vs Co-op Bank on loan cost, worked repayments, mobile banking, paybill and SWIFT codes, and who each bank suits.

Absa vs Co-op Bank: key figures side by side

Metric Absa Co-op Bank Source
Average lending rate (Aug 2026) 13.83% 15.01% CBK
Gap to market average (14.34%) -0.51 pts +0.67 pts CBK
Rank by cost (of 36) not stated not stated CBK table
Indicative rate range 11.63% to 17.15% quoted per customer Published premiums over CBR
Mobile loans Timiza MCo-op Cash Bank sites
M-Pesa paybill 303030 400200 Bank / Safaricom
SWIFT code BARCKENX KCOOKENA Bank sites
Deposit insurance KDIC up to KSh 500,000 KDIC up to KSh 500,000 KDIC

Absa Bank Kenya in brief

Absa Bank Kenya, formerly Barclays Bank of Kenya, prices its loans below the market average on CBK’s August 2026 table. Its main retail products are personal unsecured loans for salaried customers, Timiza mobile loans, asset finance, mortgages and business banking credit. Safaricom still lists its M-Pesa paybill (303030) under the old Barclays name, which confuses some first-time depositors. Estimate a loan on our Absa loan calculator.

Co-operative Bank of Kenya in brief

Co-operative Bank has deep roots in Kenya’s co-operative movement and banks many Saccos and their members. Its loans include personal unsecured loans, MCo-op Cash mobile loans, asset finance, mortgages and loans aimed at Sacco and co-operative members. Its average lending rate in August 2026 was above the market average. Its M-Pesa paybill is 400200. Estimate a loan on our Co-op Bank loan calculator.

What the rate gap costs you: worked examples

Using each bank’s CBK average as the rate, on a reducing balance (illustration only; your quote depends on your credit profile, and fees come on top):

Loan Absa monthly Co-op Bank monthly Total interest difference
KSh 200,000 over 24 months KSh 9,587 KSh 9,698 KSh 2,682 more at Co-op Bank
KSh 500,000 over 36 months KSh 17,048 KSh 17,335 KSh 10,352 more at Co-op Bank
KSh 1,000,000 over 60 months KSh 23,180 KSh 23,795 KSh 36,898 more at Co-op Bank

On a KSh 1 million, five-year loan, the average-rate gap adds up to about KSh 36,898 in extra interest. That is why it pays to get a written quotation from each bank and compare the total repayable, not just the monthly figure. Remember averages hide a wide spread: a salaried customer with a clean credit record may get well below their bank’s average, and a riskier borrower well above it.

Absa vs Co-op Bank: which should you choose?

  • Cheapest average loan: Absa (13.83%). Start your quotes there.
  • Quick mobile credit: Absa offers Timiza; Co-op Bank offers MCo-op Cash. Mobile loans are usually priced differently from branch loans, so check the fee before borrowing.
  • Depositing from M-Pesa: Absa paybill 303030, Co-op Bank paybill 400200, with your account number as the account. See all bank paybill numbers.
  • Safety: all are CBK-licensed and KDIC members, so deposits are insured up to KSh 500,000 per depositor per bank.
  • Everyday fees: compare the latest tariff guide from each bank for ledger fees, ATM withdrawals and transfers; these change more often than loan pricing.

How to get the best loan quote

  1. Check your credit report with a licensed credit reference bureau and clear any arrears.
  2. Ask each bank for a written offer showing the rate, all fees and the total cost of credit.
  3. Enter each offer into the bank’s calculator and compare totals.
  4. Ask whether the loan is reducing balance or flat rate; flat rates can nearly double the true cost.
  5. Use the Total Cost of Credit site (costofcredit.co.ke) to cross-check published pricing.

Related: money market fund vs savings account and PesaLink vs RTGS vs EFT. Official sources: Central Bank of Kenya, KDIC, Total Cost of Credit.

Frequently asked questions

Which is cheaper for loans, Absa or Co-op Bank?

On CBK’s August 2026 data, Absa had the lower average lending rate at 13.83%, against 15.01% at Co-op Bank. Your own rate depends on your credit profile.

What are the M-Pesa paybill numbers for Absa and Co-op Bank?

Absa: 303030; Co-op Bank: 400200. Use your bank account number as the account number.

Are deposits at Absa and Co-op Bank insured?

Yes. As KDIC member banks, deposits are covered up to KSh 500,000 per depositor per bank if the bank is liquidated.

How are bank loan rates set in Kenya?

Under CBK’s Risk-Based Credit Pricing Model, variable shilling loans are priced as a reference rate (the Central Bank Rate, 8.75% from 7 October 2026, or KESONIA) plus a customer premium called K, with fees on top.

ShareWhatsAppFacebookXLinkedIn

Get the weekly Business Radar briefing

Get loan, M-Pesa and money rate changes.

One short email a week with exam dates, deadlines, job openings and money changes in Kenya.

Topics (optional)

Prefer WhatsApp? Follow Business Radar on WhatsApp

Weekly, free. We only use your email for this newsletter and you can unsubscribe in one click. Privacy policy.

About Author

Norah Waceke is a business journalist and editor at Business Radar with more than eight years of experience covering Kenya's economy, companies and markets. She previously worked at one of Kenya's leading digital news platforms, where she reported on business, finance and current affairs. A graduate of Multimedia University of Kenya, Norah focuses on clear, accurate reporting that helps readers understand the money stories shaping their lives and businesses.

More from Norah Waceke · Editorial policy

Related stories

Guides

I&M Bank vs Equity 2026: Loan Rates Compared

Updated 29 October 2026 Home › Guides › I&M Bank vs Equity 2026: Loan Rates Compared Updated October 2026. I&M
Banking & Finance Guides

MCo-op Cash Loan 2026: Limits, Charges and How to Apply

MCo-op Cash loan 2026 (Co-op Bank App, *667#): borrow KSh 1,000 to 500,000, fees of 8%, 10% or 12% for
★ Add Business Radar as a preferred source on Google
Latest