Updated 7 November 2026
AAR vs Jubilee is one of the most common questions for Kenyan families buying private medical cover on their own rather than through an employer. Both insurers sell individual and family plans with inpatient cover at the core and outpatient, maternity, dental and optical benefits on top. This guide compares AAR Insurance’s Individual and Family Medical Plan with Jubilee Insurance’s J Care Premium family cover, using only what each insurer publishes on its own product pages.
Checked on 7 November 2026 against AAR Insurance’s Individual and Family Medical Plan page and Jubilee Insurance’s J Care Medical Insurance page. Premiums depend on age, family size, cover limit and options chosen, so this guide does not quote premiums. Ask each insurer for a written quote and the full policy document before you pay.
On this page
In this guide
- AAR vs Jubilee at a glance
- Who can join AAR or Jubilee family cover
- Inpatient benefits: AAR vs Jubilee
- Outpatient, dental and optical cover
- AAR vs Jubilee waiting periods and pre-existing conditions
- AAR vs Jubilee extras and value-added services
- AAR vs Jubilee: how to choose
- Frequently asked questions
AAR vs Jubilee at a glance
| Feature | AAR Individual and Family Plan | Jubilee J Care Premium |
|---|---|---|
| Who it is for | Kenyan residents with a KRA PIN | Individuals and families; ID or passport and KRA PIN for the principal member |
| Age at joining | Newborn (from discharge) to 64 years | Not stated on the product page; seniors are directed to J Senior (65+) |
| Inpatient limit | Not stated on the product page | Up to KSh 10 million, six plan options |
| Outpatient | Listed as a benefit (diagnostics, radiology, cancer consultations, dental, optical, pre- and post-natal care) | Optional; shared outpatient options under Royal and Prestige plans |
| Maternity | Normal, elective and emergency caesarean delivery | Optional; normal delivery, caesarean and postnatal care |
| Dental and optical | Listed under outpatient | Optional |
| Cover outside Kenya | Local and international rescue and evacuation | Regional cover and overseas treatment referrals on a credit basis |
| Activation | Not stated on the product page | 24 to 48 hours after payment for individual and family plans |
“Not stated” means the insurer’s public product page does not give the figure. It does not mean the benefit is missing. The policy document and quote will set the limits.
Who can join AAR or Jubilee family cover
AAR lists three simple eligibility rules for its individual and family cover: you must be a Kenyan resident, have a KRA PIN, and be aged between a newborn (once discharged from hospital) and 64 years. People aged 65 to 85 go to AAR’s separate Seniors CAARE cover instead.
Jubilee’s page does not give an age band for J Care Premium. It lists the documents you need: a national ID or passport, a KRA PIN for the principal member, and birth certificates for children. Jubilee recommends its J Senior product for people aged 65 and above, including parents, rather than adding them to a family plan. Children aged 0 to 18 can also be covered on their own under J Junior.
Inpatient benefits: AAR vs Jubilee
Inpatient cover is the main reason most families buy medical insurance, because hospital admission is where bills grow fastest.
AAR’s inpatient benefit list includes maternity (normal delivery plus elective or emergency caesarean section), a lodger’s fee for a parent or guardian staying with an insured child under 8 in a local or international hospital, organ transplants, discharge medication for up to 14 days after leaving hospital, reconstructive surgery, and accidental damage to natural teeth and to the eyes.
Jubilee says J Care Premium gives inpatient cover up to KSh 10 million across six plan options. Its page says the cover includes cancer, HIV, chronic, congenital and psychiatric conditions, and offers overseas treatment on a credit basis together with regional cover.
Outpatient, dental and optical cover
AAR’s outpatient list covers diagnostic tests and procedures, radiology, radiotherapy and chemotherapy, cancer consultations and tests, dental treatment (extractions, fillings, scaling and polishing, gum surgery, root canal treatment, pulpotomy and minor oral surgery), optical services (prescribed lenses, contact lenses and frames), and pre-natal and post-natal care.
With Jubilee J Care Premium, outpatient, maternity, dental and optical are optional benefits you choose and pay for. Jubilee says shared family outpatient options are available under its Royal and Prestige plans. This matters when you compare quotes: a Jubilee quote without these options is not like-for-like with an AAR quote that includes them.
AAR vs Jubilee waiting periods and pre-existing conditions
Waiting periods are the time after joining before a benefit can be claimed. Jubilee’s health FAQ says chronic illnesses such as diabetes or asthma and congenital conditions are covered on most plans, and that pre-existing conditions may be covered after a waiting period, typically 12 months. It also says some benefits have waiting periods set out in the policy document.
AAR’s family plan page does not publish its waiting periods. For comparison, AAR’s Seniors CAARE page lists a one-year waiting period for pre-existing, chronic and congenital conditions and for newly diagnosed cancer, and 10 months for psychiatric treatment, but those terms apply to the seniors product. Ask AAR for the waiting periods on the family plan in writing before you join, especially if anyone in the family is pregnant or has a known condition.
AAR vs Jubilee extras and value-added services
AAR lists cover for medical injuries from political violence, local and international rescue and evacuation, nutrition advice, a 24-hour contact centre, health camps with phone alerts, and funeral expenses in case of death.
Jubilee’s Always With You programme adds pharmacy-based teleconsultations, drug delivery, mental wellness support, 24/7 care navigation and community health programmes, at no extra cost according to the insurer. J Care Premium also includes annual check-ups, vaccinations, telemedicine and wellness coaching.
AAR vs Jubilee: how to choose
- Get two quotes with the same options. Match the inpatient limit, and either include or exclude outpatient, maternity, dental and optical on both.
- Check the hospital panel. Make sure the hospitals you actually use are on each insurer’s provider list.
- Read the waiting periods. These matter most for maternity and pre-existing conditions.
- Plan for older parents separately. AAR’s family plan stops at 64 at joining, and Jubilee steers people aged 65 and above to J Senior.
- Read the exclusions. Insurers commonly exclude cosmetic treatment and claims from non-accredited facilities. Ask for the full list.
For a wider list of insurers, see our guide to medical insurance cover in Kenya. If you choose AAR, our AAR claims process guide explains how to file a claim, and the Jubilee contacts page lists its branches. If you already have SHA cover, ask each insurer how it works alongside your private plan before you buy.
Frequently asked questions
AAR vs Jubilee: which is cheaper?
Neither insurer publishes a premium for these family plans on its product page. Premiums depend on age, family size, limits and options, so compare written quotes with matching benefits.
Does Jubilee cover maternity?
Yes, as an option on J Care Premium. Jubilee says it covers normal delivery, caesarean section and postnatal care.
What is the age limit for AAR family cover?
AAR says newborns from discharge up to 64 years can join. Seniors aged 65 to 85 use AAR’s Seniors CAARE cover.
How fast does Jubilee cover start?
Jubilee says individual and family plans activate within 24 to 48 hours of payment, though some benefits have waiting periods.
Related guide: Medical Cover for Parents in Kenya 2026: AAR Seniors vs Jubilee J Senior.
Prefer WhatsApp? Follow Business Radar on WhatsApp
Weekly, free. We only use your email for this newsletter and you can unsubscribe in one click. Privacy policy.

