91-day T-bill8.750%▲ 0.002
182-day T-bill8.851%▼ 0.008
364-day T-bill9.029%▲ 0.002
Central Bank Rate8.75%07/10/2026
Inflation7.3%October 2026
Top MMF yield10.34%Jubilee
Sources: CBK auction, 2 Nov 2026 value date (change vs 26 Oct); CBK key rates; fund managers' published yields, as at 31st December 2025 to 31st March 2026.

Medical Cover for Parents in Kenya 2026: AAR Seniors vs Jubilee J Senior

Medical cover for parents in Kenya compared: AAR Seniors CAARE vs Jubilee J Senior on joining age, renewal, waiting periods, hearing, optical, home nursing, evacuation and exclusions.

Medical Cover for Parents in Kenya 2026: AAR Seniors vs Jubilee J Senior

Updated 7 November 2026

Finding medical cover for parents over 65 is harder than covering younger family members. Many family plans stop accepting new members in their mid-60s, and older people are more likely to have conditions that need waiting periods. In Kenya, AAR Insurance and Jubilee Insurance both sell dedicated senior plans: AAR Seniors CAARE and Jubilee J Senior. This guide compares them on who can join, renewal, waiting periods, benefits and exclusions, using each insurer’s own product page.

Checked on 7 November 2026 against AAR Insurance’s Seniors CAARE Medical Cover page and Jubilee Insurance’s J Senior Medical Cover page. Neither page publishes premiums for these plans, so this guide does not quote any. Premiums depend on age, cover limit and options; get a written quote and the full policy wording before paying.

Medical cover for parents: AAR vs Jubilee at a glance

Feature AAR Seniors CAARE Jubilee J Senior
Joining age 65 to 85 (age next birthday) 65 and above; Jubilee says it is aimed at people aged 65 to 79
Renewal For life, subject to AAR’s renewal review No renewal age limit
Inpatient limits KSh 500,000 to KSh 10 million Up to KSh 10 million
Medical report Required for members and dependants aged 55 and above, from an AAR-approved provider Not stated on the product page
Dependants One legal spouse and children aged 17 and below Elderly couples mentioned; details not stated
Pre-existing and chronic Covered after a one-year waiting period Covered after waiting periods (typically 12 months for pre-existing conditions, per Jubilee’s FAQ)
Home nursing Up to 60 days 30 days
Dental and optical Included; frames every two years up to KSh 8,000 Included by default
Evacuation Road ambulance at all limits; air evacuation from a KSh 3 million inpatient limit, within East Africa Local emergency evacuation

Who can join a senior plan

AAR accepts people aged 65 to 85, counted by age next birthday, and says existing members can renew for life, subject to its renewal review. Cover depends on AAR’s written acceptance. Anyone joining aged 55 or above, including a spouse, must submit a medical report from a provider AAR approves. AAR says dependants aged 18 to 64 are covered separately under its retail product.

Jubilee says J Senior is for people aged 65 and above, lists its target customers as seniors aged 65 to 79, retirees, elderly couples, and adult children buying cover for ageing parents, and says there is no renewal age limit. If your parent is older than 79, ask Jubilee in writing whether they can still join before you apply.

Both insurers also need standard documents. Jubilee lists a national ID or passport and a KRA PIN for the principal member.

Waiting periods in medical cover for parents

Waiting periods matter more for older buyers because many already live with a condition. AAR’s page lists these:

  • Pre-existing, chronic and congenital conditions (for example gynaecological conditions, hernias and HIV/AIDS): one year.
  • Newly diagnosed cancer: one year.
  • Psychiatric treatment: 10 months.
  • Hearing aids: 10 months, then once every three years up to KSh 30,000.

Jubilee says J Senior covers chronic, congenital and pre-existing conditions after waiting periods, and its health FAQ gives a typical 12 months for pre-existing conditions. It does not list every waiting period on the page, so ask for the policy document.

Benefits compared

AAR Seniors CAARE covers hospital accommodation, doctors’ fees, ICU and theatre, drugs and dressings, scans including CT, MRI and PET, radiotherapy and chemotherapy, inpatient physiotherapy, and discharge drugs after leaving hospital. After a hospital stay or surgery, it pays for outpatient equipment such as non-motorised wheelchairs and oxygen if a doctor recommends them. It also covers flu and pneumonia vaccines, medically necessary supplements with pre-approval, dental work, an annual check-up, telemedicine, medication delivery, and overseas referrals with airfare and accommodation for approved treatment. AAR says its network has more than 1,000 providers in East Africa.

Jubilee J Senior lists hospice care, organ transplant, joint replacement, mental wellness and psychiatric care, drug delivery, annual check-ups and diagnostics, dental and optical cover, 30 days of home nursing, local emergency evacuation, and personal accident and last expense cover. Jubilee’s Always With You programme adds pharmacy teleconsultations and 24/7 care navigation at no extra cost, according to the insurer.

Exclusions to check

AAR’s published general exclusions include cosmetic treatment, massage unless it is part of treatment after an accident or illness, claims from non-accredited facilities or unauthorised referrals, acupuncture, herbalists, nature-cure clinics, and nursing or rest homes. Treatment abroad is excluded unless it is an emergency during a trip of no more than six weeks, and travel and accommodation costs are not covered. Jubilee’s page does not list exclusions, so ask for them in writing.

Checklist before buying medical cover for parents

  • Confirm the joining age and whether a medical report is needed.
  • Ask for the waiting period for each condition your parent already has.
  • Compare quotes at the same inpatient limit, with outpatient included on both.
  • Check that your parent’s usual hospital and pharmacy are on the panel.
  • Ask how renewal works if a claim is large.

For family plans for younger members, see our AAR vs Jubilee family medical cover comparison and our wider guide to medical insurance in Kenya.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best medical cover for parents over 65 in Kenya?

It depends on your parent’s age, health and hospital. AAR Seniors CAARE accepts ages 65 to 85, and Jubilee J Senior targets ages 65 to 79 with no renewal age limit. Compare written quotes.

Can I add my parents to my family medical cover?

Usually not on these plans. AAR’s family plan accepts members up to 64, and Jubilee recommends J Senior for parents.

Are pre-existing conditions covered for seniors?

Yes, after waiting periods. AAR lists one year, and Jubilee says typically 12 months.

Does AAR cover hearing aids for seniors?

Yes. AAR says once every three years, up to KSh 30,000, after a 10-month waiting period.

Related guide: Kenya Travel Health Insurance 2026: Cost, Cover and Who Must Buy It.

ShareWhatsAppFacebookXLinkedIn

Get the weekly Business Radar briefing

Get Kenya's money, jobs and deadline updates.

One short email a week with exam dates, deadlines, job openings and money changes in Kenya.

Topics (optional)

Prefer WhatsApp? Follow Business Radar on WhatsApp

Weekly, free. We only use your email for this newsletter and you can unsubscribe in one click. Privacy policy.

About Author

Norah Waceke is a business journalist and editor at Business Radar with more than eight years of experience covering Kenya's economy, companies and markets. She previously worked at one of Kenya's leading digital news platforms, where she reported on business, finance and current affairs. A graduate of Multimedia University of Kenya, Norah focuses on clear, accurate reporting that helps readers understand the money stories shaping their lives and businesses.

More from Norah Waceke · Editorial policy

Related stories

Finance Guides

AAR vs Jubilee Medical Cover 2026: Family Plans Compared

AAR vs Jubilee medical cover for individuals and families: eligibility, inpatient and outpatient benefits, maternity, waiting periods, activation and what
Finance Guides

First Assurance Claims 2026: Forms, Documents and Deadlines

First Assurance claims: 11 claim forms, medical reimbursement documents, 30/60-day deadlines, 14-working-day payment and the right claims email.
★ Add Business Radar as a preferred source on Google
Latest