91-day T-bill8.750%▲ 0.002
182-day T-bill8.851%▼ 0.008
364-day T-bill9.029%▲ 0.002
Central Bank Rate8.75%07/10/2026
Inflation6.8%September 2026
Top MMF yield10.46%Madison
Sources: CBK auction, 2 Nov 2026 value date (change vs 26 Oct); CBK key rates; fund managers' published yields, as at 30 Oct 2026.

Absa vs Equity 2026: Loan Rates, Costs and Paybill Compared

Absa vs Equity 2026: Loan Rates, Costs and Paybill Compared

Updated 29 October 2026

Updated October 2026. Absa vs Equity: on the Central Bank of Kenya’s August 2026 bank-by-bank table, Absa lent at an average of 13.83% a year and Equity at 14.9%, against a market average of 14.34%. That makes Absa the cheaper borrower’s bank on average by 1.07 percentage points. Below we compare Absa vs Equity on loan cost, worked repayments, mobile banking, paybill and SWIFT codes, and who each bank suits.

Absa vs Equity: key figures side by side

Metric Absa Equity Source
Average lending rate (Aug 2026) 13.83% 14.9% CBK
Gap to market average (14.34%) -0.51 pts +0.56 pts CBK
Rank by cost (of 36) not stated not stated CBK table
Indicative rate range 11.63% to 17.15% quoted per customer Published premiums over CBR
Mobile loans Timiza Equitel and the Equity app Bank sites
M-Pesa paybill 303030 247247 Bank / Safaricom
SWIFT code BARCKENX EQBLKENA Bank sites
Deposit insurance KDIC up to KSh 500,000 KDIC up to KSh 500,000 KDIC

Absa Bank Kenya in brief

Absa Bank Kenya, formerly Barclays Bank of Kenya, prices its loans below the market average on CBK’s August 2026 table. Its main retail products are personal unsecured loans for salaried customers, Timiza mobile loans, asset finance, mortgages and business banking credit. Safaricom still lists its M-Pesa paybill (303030) under the old Barclays name, which confuses some first-time depositors. Estimate a loan on our Absa loan calculator.

Equity Bank Kenya in brief

Equity Bank is one of Kenya’s biggest retail lenders, built on mass-market accounts and small-business banking. It lends through salary loans, Equitel and Equity mobile app loans, asset finance, mortgages and SME loans. It prices variable loans as a reference rate plus a customer-specific premium, so two customers can get quite different quotes. Its M-Pesa paybill is 247247. Estimate a loan on our Equity loan calculator.

What the rate gap costs you: worked examples

Using each bank’s CBK average as the rate, on a reducing balance (illustration only; your quote depends on your credit profile, and fees come on top):

Loan Absa monthly Equity monthly Total interest difference
KSh 200,000 over 24 months KSh 9,587 KSh 9,688 KSh 2,431 more at Equity
KSh 500,000 over 36 months KSh 17,048 KSh 17,308 KSh 9,383 more at Equity
KSh 1,000,000 over 60 months KSh 23,180 KSh 23,737 KSh 33,436 more at Equity

On a KSh 1 million, five-year loan, the average-rate gap adds up to about KSh 33,436 in extra interest. That is why it pays to get a written quotation from each bank and compare the total repayable, not just the monthly figure. Remember averages hide a wide spread: a salaried customer with a clean credit record may get well below their bank’s average, and a riskier borrower well above it.

Absa vs Equity: which should you choose?

  • Cheapest average loan: Absa (13.83%). Start your quotes there.
  • Quick mobile credit: Absa offers Timiza; Equity offers Equitel and the Equity app. Mobile loans are usually priced differently from branch loans, so check the fee before borrowing.
  • Depositing from M-Pesa: Absa paybill 303030, Equity paybill 247247, with your account number as the account. See all bank paybill numbers.
  • Safety: all are CBK-licensed and KDIC members, so deposits are insured up to KSh 500,000 per depositor per bank.
  • Everyday fees: compare the latest tariff guide from each bank for ledger fees, ATM withdrawals and transfers; these change more often than loan pricing.

How to get the best loan quote

  1. Check your credit report with a licensed credit reference bureau and clear any arrears.
  2. Ask each bank for a written offer showing the rate, all fees and the total cost of credit.
  3. Enter each offer into the bank’s calculator and compare totals.
  4. Ask whether the loan is reducing balance or flat rate; flat rates can nearly double the true cost.
  5. Use the Total Cost of Credit site (costofcredit.co.ke) to cross-check published pricing.

Related: money market fund vs savings account and PesaLink vs RTGS vs EFT. Official sources: Central Bank of Kenya, KDIC, Total Cost of Credit.

Frequently asked questions

Which is cheaper for loans, Absa or Equity?

On CBK’s August 2026 data, Absa had the lower average lending rate at 13.83%, against 14.9% at Equity. Your own rate depends on your credit profile.

What are the M-Pesa paybill numbers for Absa and Equity?

Absa: 303030; Equity: 247247. Use your bank account number as the account number.

Are deposits at Absa and Equity insured?

Yes. As KDIC member banks, deposits are covered up to KSh 500,000 per depositor per bank if the bank is liquidated.

How are bank loan rates set in Kenya?

Under CBK’s Risk-Based Credit Pricing Model, variable shilling loans are priced as a reference rate (the Central Bank Rate, 8.75% from 7 October 2026, or KESONIA) plus a customer premium called K, with fees on top.

ShareWhatsAppFacebookXLinkedIn

Get loan, M-Pesa and money rate changes

One short email a week with exam dates, deadlines, job openings and money changes in Kenya.

Topics (optional)

Prefer WhatsApp? Follow Business Radar on WhatsApp

Weekly, free. We only use your email for this newsletter and you can unsubscribe in one click. Privacy policy.

About Author

Norah Waceke is a business journalist and editor at Business Radar with more than eight years of experience covering Kenya's economy, companies and markets. She previously worked at one of Kenya's leading digital news platforms, where she reported on business, finance and current affairs. A graduate of Multimedia University of Kenya, Norah focuses on clear, accurate reporting that helps readers understand the money stories shaping their lives and businesses.

More from Norah Waceke · Editorial policy

Related stories

Guides

Absa vs Stanbic vs Standard Chartered Kenya 2026 Compared

Updated 29 October 2026 Home › Guides › Absa vs Stanbic vs Standard Chartered Kenya 2026… Updated October 2026. Absa
Guides

I&M Bank vs NCBA 2026: Loan Rates Compared

Updated 29 October 2026 Home › Guides › I&M Bank vs NCBA 2026: Loan Rates Compared Updated October 2026. I&M
★ Add Business Radar as a preferred source on Google
Latest