Updated 20 October 2026
Quick answer: Tala is a short-term credit line of KSh 1,000 to KSh 50,000, charged 0.3% to 0.6% a day on what you borrow, for up to 120 days, with no access fee. Branch lends KSh 1,000 to KSh 300,000 over 62 days to one year, at 2% to 18% a month plus a 6% processing fee. For a small loan you repay within a few weeks, Tala’s daily pricing is usually simpler and can be cheaper; for a bigger loan spread over months, Branch is the only one of the two that offers it, and a borrower who qualifies for its lower rates pays far less per month.
The terms below are taken from each lender’s own published information: Tala’s website and FAQ (tala.co.ke) and the Google Play Store listings of both apps, read on 19 October 2026. Your actual price depends on your credit profile and is shown in the app before you accept a loan.
In this guide
Tala vs Branch at a Glance
| Item | Tala | Branch |
|---|---|---|
| Loan size | KSh 1,000 to KSh 50,000 credit limit | KSh 1,000 to KSh 300,000 (the listing also says “from KSh 500”) |
| How interest is charged | Daily, 0.3% to 0.6% of the amount borrowed | Monthly, 2% to 18%, depending on risk profile |
| Published APR range | 109.5% to 219.0% | 20% to 211% |
| Fees | No access charges | Processing fee of 6% of the principal; no onboarding fee |
| Repayment period | You pick a date, up to 120 days | 62 days to 1 year, in monthly instalments |
| Late payment | One-time 8% of the outstanding balance | Not stated in the listing; check your loan agreement |
| Early repayment | No penalty; you pay only for the days used | Not stated in the listing |
| How you receive money | M-Pesa | M-Pesa or the Branch wallet |
| How you repay | M-Pesa Xpress or paybill 851900 (account: your Tala phone number) | In the app |
| Other services | Credit line only | Wallet, savings, bill payments, transfers to banks via Pesalink, airtime |
| Customer support | SMS 21991, hello@ke-support.tala.com, in-app chat | In-app chat or Kenya@branch.co; no phone or walk-in support |
| Regulation | In CBK’s digital credit provider directory as Inventure Mobile Limited (trading as Tala) | Branch International Limited bought 84.89% of Century Microfinance Bank in 2022 (CBK press release); see the licence section below |
What a KSh 10,000 Loan Costs on Each App
These examples use only the published rate ranges. They show the cheapest and most expensive ends of each range, so your offer will fall somewhere in between.
| Loan of KSh 10,000 | Tala at 0.3% a day | Tala at 0.6% a day | Branch at 20% APR plus 6% fee | Branch at 211% APR plus 6% fee |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Repaid after 30 days | KSh 900 | KSh 1,800 | Not offered (minimum term 62 days) | Not offered |
| Repaid after 62 days | KSh 1,860 | KSh 3,720 | About KSh 940 (KSh 340 interest + KSh 600 fee) | About KSh 4,184 (KSh 3,584 interest + KSh 600 fee) |
| Repaid after 120 days | KSh 3,600 | KSh 7,200 | About KSh 1,258 (KSh 658 interest + KSh 600 fee) | About KSh 7,537 (KSh 6,937 interest + KSh 600 fee) |
How we worked it out: Tala’s own example is KSh 10,000 Ă— 0.3% Ă— 120 days = KSh 3,600 in interest, so we applied the same formula. Branch’s listing gives interest as principal Ă— APR Ă· 365 Ă— days, and lists the 6% processing fee separately, so we added KSh 600. Branch’s own example (KSh 10,000 at 196% APR for 62 days, repaid in two monthly payments of KSh 6,630) shows KSh 3,260 in interest and does not mention the processing fee, so ask the app whether the fee is deducted from the amount you receive or added to what you repay. You can test other amounts with our loan app cost checker.
The takeaway: a new borrower is likely to be offered rates near the top of either range. At the top ends, Tala costs less than Branch over 62 days (KSh 3,720 against about KSh 4,184), while Branch’s lowest rate is far cheaper than anything Tala offers. Branch also cannot be used for a loan of under two months.
Limits and How They Grow
Tala says most customers’ limits double within two months and quadruple within six, up to the KSh 50,000 maximum, and that repaying early or on time helps you qualify for more. It works as a revolving credit line: once approved, you can borrow again up to your limit as long as your account is in good standing.
Branch says paying on time raises your limit and loan size, up to KSh 300,000. It builds its credit score from your phone’s handset details, financial SMS messages and your Branch repayment history. Branch asks for wide phone permissions on Android, and you may need to leave only your Safaricom SIM in the phone during sign-up.

Late Payment and Collections
Tala charges a single 8% late fee on the outstanding balance if you miss midnight on your due date, rather than a daily penalty. It says it contacts only the email and phone numbers you registered and never your friends or relatives, and that long non-payment can lead to collections calls and a report to credit reference bureaus. Branch says it reports defaulted loans to authorised credit bureaus and does not sell your data. With either app, a default will show on your credit report, so check your CRB status before you borrow again. If any lender’s agents shame or threaten you, you can report loan app harassment.
Is Branch Licensed?
Tala’s lending company, Inventure Mobile Limited, appears in the CBK digital credit provider directory as updated on 29 September 2026. The name Branch does not appear in that directory. CBK did, however, announce that Branch International Limited acquired 84.89% of Century Microfinance Bank, a CBK-licensed microfinance bank, with effect from 1 January 2022, and the Branch app now offers a wallet and savings alongside loans. Before borrowing, open the loan agreement in the Branch app, note the exact lender name, and look it up against the CBK list of licensed digital lenders and CBK’s list of microfinance banks. Our guide on how to check if a loan app is licensed walks you through it.
Which One Should You Choose?
- Choose Tala for small, short loans you can repay within days or a few weeks, when you want to pay only for the days used and avoid a processing fee.
- Choose Branch if you need more than KSh 50,000, or want to spread repayments over two months to a year in fixed monthly instalments, and the rate it offers you is towards the low end.
- Compare the actual offer. Both apps show the full cost before you accept. Write it down as a total in shillings, not a percentage, and compare it with other options such as a Sacco loan or Zenka and other apps on our list.
More detail on Tala’s features is in our Tala loan app guide.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which is cheaper, Tala or Branch?
It depends on the rate each app offers you and how long you borrow. At the top of each published range, a KSh 10,000 loan over 62 days costs about KSh 3,720 on Tala and about KSh 4,184 on Branch including its 6% fee. At Branch’s lowest rate, the same loan costs about KSh 940.
What is the maximum loan on Tala and Branch?
KSh 50,000 on Tala and KSh 300,000 on Branch.
What is Tala’s paybill number?
851900, with your Tala-registered phone number as the account number.
Does Branch charge a processing fee?
Yes. Branch’s Play Store listing gives a processing fee of 6% of the loan principal and no onboarding fee.
How long can I take to repay?
Up to 120 days on Tala, and 62 days to one year on Branch.
Can I call Branch customer care?
No. Branch says it does not offer phone or in-person support; you contact it through in-app chat or by email at Kenya@branch.co.
Terms checked 19 October 2026. Loan pricing changes, so confirm the cost in the app before accepting.
Prefer WhatsApp? Follow Business Radar on WhatsApp
Weekly, free. We only use your email for this newsletter and you can unsubscribe in one click. Privacy policy.


