91-day T-bill8.748%▼ 0.002
182-day T-bill8.859%▼ 0.001
364-day T-bill9.027%▼ 0.012
Central Bank Rate8.75%07/10/2026
Inflation6.8%September 2026
Top MMF yield10.46%Madison
Sources: CBK auction, 26 Oct 2026 value date (change vs 19 Oct); CBK key rates; fund managers' published yields, as at 28 Oct 2026.

School Fees Loans in Kenya 2026: Best Bank Options Compared

School fees loans in Kenya compared for 2026: NCBA up to KSh1.5m, DTB Academy up to KSh1m per student, KCB Masomo up to KSh4m. Limits, terms, papers.

School Fees Loans in Kenya 2026: Best Bank Options Compared

Updated 28 October 2026

The main bank school fees loans in Kenya for 2026 are NCBA’s Education Loan (up to KSh1.5 million, unsecured, repaid over up to 48 months), DTB Academy (up to KSh1 million per student, repaid over up to 10 months) and KCB’s Masomo Loan (KSh100,000 to KSh4 million, repaid over up to 24 months). NCBA and DTB pay the money straight to the school against a confirmed fee invoice. Below is a side-by-side comparison, the documents each bank asks for and how to work out what a loan really costs before January fees fall due.

Sponsored
AI Starter Course

Updated October 2026, from the product pages of NCBA, DTB Kenya and KCB Bank. Interest rates are set per customer and are not published on these pages, so ask each bank for its rate and total cost of credit in writing.

school fees loans
school fees loans: key figures (Business Radar)

School Fees Loans Compared

Bank and product Loan amount Repayment period Security Paid to
NCBA Education Loan Up to KSh1,500,000 Up to 48 months Unsecured Directly to the school, against a confirmed invoice
DTB Academy Up to KSh1,000,000 per student Up to 10 months Unsecured Directly to the school, against a confirmed invoice
KCB Masomo Loan KSh100,000 to KSh4,000,000 Up to 24 months Not stated on product page Not stated on product page

NCBA Education Loan

NCBA’s education loan covers school fees for you or your dependants, with no collateral. What you need:

  • Kenyan ID and KRA PIN, and a completed application form.
  • An employer introduction letter and your latest three months’ payslips.
  • A confirmed school invoice for the current academic year or term.
  • An NCBA account that has been active for at least six months.

Best for: salaried parents who want to spread a full year’s fees thinly over several years. Remember that a longer term means more total interest.

DTB Academy

DTB Academy covers learners from pre-primary to college and university, up to KSh1 million per student for the current academic year. You need a confirmed school invoice and a DTB account in the parent’s name. DTB pays the school directly and you repay within ten months.

Best for: parents who want to clear the debt within the school year rather than carry it into the next one.

KCB Masomo Loan

KCB says you are eligible if you’ve had an active KCB account for at least three months and are salaried or have a guardian. Amounts run from KSh100,000 to KSh4 million, repayable over up to 24 months. KCB also offers unsecured personal loans of KSh20,000 to KSh4 million and check-off loans of up to KSh10 million for employees of firms with a KCB agreement.

Best for: larger bills, such as university or international school fees, from existing KCB customers.

How to Choose a School Fees Loan

  1. Get the fee figure right first. Check the official fees in our guides to school fees in Kenya for 2026 and gazetted senior school fees so you don’t borrow more than you need.
  2. Ask for the total cost of credit, not just the interest rate. It includes processing and insurance charges.
  3. Match the term to the school year. A loan still running when the next term’s fees are due means borrowing on top of borrowing.
  4. Compare with other lenders using our loan comparison tool for CBK-licensed lenders.
  5. Check the monthly repayment fits: as a rule of thumb, keep all loan repayments well within what your payslip can absorb.

Alternatives to a Bank Loan

  • SACCO loans: many SACCOs lend against your deposits, sometimes at lower rates than banks.
  • HELB: for university and TVET students, HELB loans help cover fees; see the HELB student portal guide.
  • Instalments with the school: ask the bursar whether fees can be paid termly or monthly.
  • Buy-now-pay-later for school items costs more than it looks; read how to work out the true cost of instalments.

When School Fees Loans Make Sense

School fees loans work best as a bridge: a bonus, harvest or contract payment is coming, but fees are due now. They are riskier when used every term, because each new loan stacks on the last. Before applying, list the fees for the whole year, subtract what you can pay from income and savings, and borrow only the gap. Compare at least two school fees loans on total cost, and ask whether early repayment carries a fee.

Official Sources

Frequently Asked Questions

Which bank gives school fees loans in Kenya?

NCBA (Education Loan), DTB (DTB Academy) and KCB (Masomo Loan) all publish school fees products.

Can I get a school fees loan without security?

Yes. NCBA and DTB both describe their school fees loans as unsecured.

Is the money paid to me or to the school?

NCBA and DTB pay the school directly against a confirmed invoice.

How long can I take to repay a school fees loan?

Up to 48 months at NCBA, 24 months for KCB Masomo and 10 months for DTB Academy.

Product details checked on 28 October 2026 on ncbagroup.com, dtbk.dtbafrica.com and ke.kcbgroup.com.

ShareWhatsAppFacebookXLinkedIn

Get KCSE, KUCCPS, HELB and intake date alerts

One short email a week with exam dates, deadlines, job openings and money changes in Kenya.

Topics (optional)

Prefer WhatsApp? Follow Business Radar on WhatsApp

Weekly, free. We only use your email for this newsletter and you can unsubscribe in one click. Privacy policy.

About Author

Norah Waceke is a business journalist and editor at Business Radar with more than eight years of experience covering Kenya's economy, companies and markets. She previously worked at one of Kenya's leading digital news platforms, where she reported on business, finance and current affairs. A graduate of Multimedia University of Kenya, Norah focuses on clear, accurate reporting that helps readers understand the money stories shaping their lives and businesses.

More from Norah Waceke · Editorial policy

Related stories

Education Guides

Proof of Funds for Student Visa From Kenya 2026 by Country

Updated 28 October 2026 Home › Education › Proof of Funds for Student Visa From Kenya… Proof of funds for
Education Guides

KMTC Kisumu Contacts and Nyanza Campuses: Phone, Email and Address

Updated 27 October 2026 Home › Education › KMTC Kisumu Contacts and Nyanza Campuses: Phone, Email… KMTC Kisumu contacts, plus
★ Add Business Radar as a preferred source on Google
Latest