91-day T-bill8.748%▼ 0.002
182-day T-bill8.859%▼ 0.001
364-day T-bill9.027%▼ 0.012
Central Bank Rate8.75%07/10/2026
Inflation6.8%September 2026
Top MMF yield10.46%Madison
Sources: CBK auction, 26 Oct 2026 value date (change vs 19 Oct); CBK key rates; fund managers' published yields, as at 28 Oct 2026.

How to Add a Class to Your Driving Licence in Kenya: Endorsement Steps, Rules and Fees

How to Add a Class to Your Driving Licence in Kenya: Endorsement Steps, Rules and Fees

Updated 28 October 2026

To add a new class to your Kenyan driving licence (an endorsement), you train for that class at an NTSA-licensed driving school, pass the NTSA driving test for it, and the new class is then added to your existing licence record on the NTSA portal. You do not take out a second licence. The Traffic (Driving Schools, Driving Instructors and Driving Licences) Rules, 2020 set the minimum age, the years of experience on a lower class, and the KSh 1,000 driving test fee for each step up.

The most common upgrades are from an automatic-only B1 to the manual B2, from B2 to a light truck (C1) or a van (D1), and from a car to a motorcycle class. This guide shows who qualifies for each, the step-by-step process, the fees in the Rules, and the mistakes that get applications sent back.

In this guide
  1. Endorsement at a Glance
  2. Which Classes Can You Add, and When?
  3. Step by Step: How to Add a Class to Your Licence
  4. What It Costs
  5. Special Cases
  6. Common Reasons Applications Stall
  7. Frequently Asked Questions

Endorsement at a Glance

Item Detail
What it is Adding a vehicle category to the licence you already hold
Who handles it National Transport and Safety Authority (NTSA), through the eCitizen NTSA portal
Training At a driving school licensed by NTSA for the class you want
Test fee in the Rules KSh 1,000 per driving test application
Learner permit fee KSh 600 for a provisional licence in the new class, if your school requires one
Medical certificate Form 4, required with test and licence applications
Age ceiling 65 for truck and bus classes

Which Classes Can You Add, and When?

The Third Schedule of the Rules sets the ladder. Higher classes need you to have held a lower one for a set period, so check this table before you pay a driving school.

Class to add What it lets you drive Minimum age Experience needed first
B2 (light vehicle) Manual or automatic cars up to 3,500 kg GVW, plus a light trailer 18 None
B3 (professional) Taxicabs up to 3,500 kg, up to 7 passengers 21 None in the table
A1, A2, A3 (motorcycles) Motorcycles above 50 cc and three-wheelers, with load and passenger limits 18 None
C1 (light truck) Trucks above 3,500 kg and up to 7,500 kg GVW 22 B2 for at least two years
C (medium truck) Trucks above 7,500 kg GVW 24 Two years on C1
CE (heavy truck with trailer) Articulated and heavy trailer combinations 28 Four years on C, plus training and retesting
CD (hazardous goods) Heavy trucks carrying hazardous materials 30 Two years on CE
D1 (van) Vans with up to 14 passengers 22 None beyond B in the table
D2 (minibus) Buses with 14 to 32 passengers 25 Three years on D1
D3 (large bus) Buses with 33 or more passengers 30 Three years on D2, plus training and retesting
D4 (articulated bus) Articulated buses Not stated Three years on D3
G (plant and equipment) Forklifts, graders, excavators, rollers and similar plant Not stated Endorsed on the driving licence

Higher classes carry lower ones with them. For example, C1 also covers B1 and B2, and D2 covers B1, B2 and D1. Holding B2 also lets you drive B1 automatics. Our guide to driving licence categories and minimum ages explains every category in plain terms.

Step by Step: How to Add a Class to Your Licence

  1. Confirm you qualify. Check your age and how long you have held the lower class. Your licence history is on your NTSA account; see our guide to checking your driving licence status.
  2. Enrol at a licensed school for that class. Not every school trains every class. Under the Rules, Class A school licences cover all vehicle categories, Class B covers cars up to 3,500 kg and motorcycles, and Class C covers motorcycles only. Ask to see the school’s NTSA licence. For an idea of school pricing, see Five Star Driving School fees.
  3. Get a provisional licence for the new class if needed. Learning a new category on public roads is done under instruction, and the provisional licence costs KSh 600 under the Rules. Our provisional driving licence (PDL) guide covers the conditions, including the instructor and L-plate rules.
  4. Complete the training. The NTSA curriculum attached to the Rules requires full attendance of practical classes, and the school runs an internal test before it will endorse you for the NTSA test.
  5. Get a medical certificate (Form 4). It is filled by a registered and accredited medical practitioner and goes with the test application.
  6. Book and pay for the NTSA test. The school applies on your behalf; the Rules set the test application fee at KSh 1,000. The test has a theory part, a Highway Code and traffic signs part, a road safety part and a practical drive.
  7. Pass, then check your record. After you pass, the new class should appear on your NTSA account. Download any interim licence the portal issues and carry it until the updated licence is ready.

If eCitizen gives you trouble, see our guide to logging in to eCitizen, and use the eCitizen passport photo resizer if your photo upload fails.

What It Costs

Cost item Amount Source
Provisional licence for the new class KSh 600 Second Schedule of the Rules
Driving test application KSh 1,000 Second Schedule of the Rules
Endorsement on the licence Shown on eCitizen at checkout Not listed separately in the Rules
Driving school lessons Set by each school School fee schedules
Medical certificate Set by the medical practitioner Not fixed by the Rules
Licence renewal (when due) KSh 3,000 for three years Second Schedule of the Rules

Many websites quote a fixed endorsement fee. We could not confirm one in the Rules or on an official NTSA page, so pay only what the eCitizen invoice shows, and only through the eCitizen checkout.

Special Cases

Upgrading from B1 automatic to B2 manual

B1 holders are limited to automatic cars. To drive a manual, train for B2 at a school with a manual car and sit the B2 test. Once added, B2 covers both manual and automatic light vehicles.

Going professional: taxi, matatu or truck

Driving for hire needs more than the class. Category E is the special professional licence for truck and bus classes, with a minimum age of 21 and three months of practice on those vehicles, and public service vehicle drivers also need a PSV badge. Our guide to PSV licence requirements covers that route.

Category G for plant operators

Operators of forklifts, graders, excavators and rollers get a Class G endorsement on their driving licence. Train with a school or institution that offers plant operation, and expect special authorisation rules for some machines under the Traffic Act.

Drivers with disability

Category F licences are tested on the vehicle the person will drive. The Rules ask for a valid medical certificate, an assessment report and a disability certificate, with other requirements as for the matching class.

Common Reasons Applications Stall

  • Not enough experience on the lower class. The portal checks your issue dates. A C1 application two years minus a week after your B2 will not go through.
  • Above the age ceiling. Truck and bus classes stop at 65.
  • School not licensed for the class. A motorcycle-only school cannot put you up for a truck test.
  • Expired licence. Renew first; see renewing a driving licence online. If the card is gone, start with replacing a lost licence.
  • Paying an agent. Endorsements are done through your own eCitizen account and your school, not through people who promise a class without a test.

For every other licence and vehicle service in one place, see our NTSA services hub. Looking for driving work once the new class is on your licence? Browse openings on JobinKenya.

Frequently Asked Questions

How do I add a class to my driving licence in Kenya?

Train at an NTSA-licensed school for the class, pass the NTSA driving test (KSh 1,000 test fee), and the class is added to your existing licence on the NTSA portal.

How much is a driving licence endorsement in Kenya?

The Rules list the KSh 1,000 test fee and KSh 600 provisional licence fee but no separate endorsement fee. eCitizen shows any endorsement charge before you pay.

How long must I hold B2 before adding C1?

At least two years, and you must be 22 or older.

Can I go straight from a car licence to a large bus?

No. D3 needs three years on D2, which needs three years on D1, and you must be at least 30.

Do I need a new medical certificate?

Yes. The Rules attach the Form 4 medical certificate to test and licence applications.

Is there a maximum age for adding a truck or bus class?

Yes. The Rules set 65 as the maximum age for C and D classes.

Classes, ages, experience rules and fees checked against the Traffic (Driving Schools, Driving Instructors and Driving Licences) Rules, 2020 (as revised to December 31, 2022) on Kenya Law on October 25, 2026. The Rules do not list a separate endorsement fee, so rely on the amount eCitizen shows at checkout. NTSA’s own website did not load when we checked.

ShareWhatsAppFacebookXLinkedIn

Get Kenya's money, jobs and deadline updates

One short email a week with exam dates, deadlines, job openings and money changes in Kenya.

Topics (optional)

Prefer WhatsApp? Follow Business Radar on WhatsApp

Weekly, free. We only use your email for this newsletter and you can unsubscribe in one click. Privacy policy.

About Author

Norah Waceke is a business journalist and editor at Business Radar with more than eight years of experience covering Kenya's economy, companies and markets. She previously worked at one of Kenya's leading digital news platforms, where she reported on business, finance and current affairs. A graduate of Multimedia University of Kenya, Norah focuses on clear, accurate reporting that helps readers understand the money stories shaping their lives and businesses.

More from Norah Waceke · Editorial policy

Related stories

Guides Lipa Mdogo Mdogo Desk

Watu Simu: Phones, Requirements, Deposit and How to Pay

Updated 28 October 2026 Home › Lipa Mdogo Mdogo Desk › Watu Simu: Phones, Requirements, Deposit and How to… Watu
Guides

M-Pesa GlobalPay Virtual Card 2026: How to Get It, Charges and Limits for Online Shopping

Updated 28 October 2026 Home › Guides › M-Pesa GlobalPay Virtual Card 2026: How to Get… Quick answer: M-Pesa GlobalPay
★ Add Business Radar as a preferred source on Google
Latest