Updated 31 October 2026
For most chamas in Kenya, Co-operative Bank’s Mshiriki Current Account is the cheapest to run (no minimum operating balance, no ledger fee and free deposits and withdrawals), Family Bank’s Chama Account suits groups that want a loan of KSh500,000 or more, and KCB Chama suits groups that want to collect contributions and approve loans on the phone via *225#. The details below come from each bank’s own product pages, checked on October 31, 2026.
Chama accounts compared
| Feature | Co-op Mshiriki | Family Bank Chama Account | KCB Chama |
|---|---|---|---|
| Account type | Current (transactional) | Savings | Digital group platform |
| Minimum opening balance | Not stated | KSh200 | Not stated |
| Minimum operating balance | None | KSh2,000 | Not stated |
| Monthly ledger fee | None | Not stated | Not stated |
| Deposits and withdrawals | Free | Free internal standing order to the account | Contributions via *225# from M-Pesa or Vooma |
| Cheques | Yes, KSh10 per leaf | Not stated | No |
| Group size | Informal groups: at least 3 members | 5 to 35 members (unincorporated groups) | Registered or unregistered |
| Loans | Group loans, Club Special investment loans | Up to 3x average savings, min KSh500,000, up to 48 months, after 6 months of saving | Member loans applied for on *225#, approved by officials |
| Source | Co-op Bank | Family Bank | KCB |
“Not stated” means the bank’s product page does not list it. Ask the branch for the full tariff before opening, since banks can change charges.
Co-op Bank Mshiriki: lowest running cost
Mshiriki is a current account for registered or informal groups. Co-op lists no minimum operating balance, no monthly ledger fee, free deposits and free withdrawals, plus internet banking at no monthly charge and a collection solution for members’ savings. Cheque books cost KSh10 per leaf, and statements are issued half-yearly on request.
Requirements for informal groups: at least 3 members, an extract of minutes resolving to open the account and naming signatories, and the signatories’ national IDs and KRA PINs.
Requirements for formal groups: a registration certificate and introduction letter from the Ministry of Social Services (State Department for Social Protection), group by-laws, the minutes extract, the group’s KRA PIN, and signatories’ IDs and KRA PINs.
Family Bank Chama Account: built for bigger loans
Family Bank’s account is a savings account for chamas, welfare groups and investment groups. It needs KSh200 to open and a KSh2,000 operating balance. Its main draw is the Chama Loan: up to three times the group’s average savings, a minimum loan of KSh500,000 and up to 48 months to repay. The group must have saved with Family Bank for at least six months and show proof of monthly contributions.
Other listed benefits include free chama workshops every three months, a dedicated relationship manager, and help investing in T-bills, bonds, commercial paper and shares.
KCB Chama: run the group from your phone
KCB Chama works through the *225# USSD menu. A group official creates the group (stating whether it is registered and the preferred branch), and members join with their ID number and date of birth; a bank representative then follows up. Members contribute from M-Pesa or KCB Vooma, and can apply for member loans that officials approve, which gives everyone a record of deposits, withdrawals and loan approvals.
Which is best for your chama?
- Small merry-go-round or welfare group: Co-op Mshiriki, because there is no balance to maintain and no ledger fee.
- Investment group planning land or a project loan: Family Bank, if you can save for six months and need KSh500,000 or more.
- Members spread across towns or abroad: KCB Chama, because contributions and approvals happen on the phone.
- Groups wanting returns on idle cash: compare a bank account with a money market fund or fixed deposit rates.
Tips before you open a chama account
- Write a constitution covering contributions, loans, penalties and exits.
- Require at least two or three signatories for every withdrawal.
- Get a KRA PIN for the group if it is registered; interest earned is subject to withholding tax.
- Keep minutes of every meeting; banks ask for them when you change signatories.
Related: Kimisitu Sacco Loans 2026: Interest Rates, Makao Halisi Mortgage and M-Kimisitu Explained
Related: Kenya Bankers Sacco Loans 2026: Premier, Elite, Express, M-Loan and Shamba Loan Rates
Prefer WhatsApp? Follow Business Radar on WhatsApp
Weekly, free. We only use your email for this newsletter and you can unsubscribe in one click. Privacy policy.

