91-day T-bill8.750%▲ 0.002
182-day T-bill8.851%▼ 0.008
364-day T-bill9.029%▲ 0.002
Central Bank Rate8.75%07/10/2026
Inflation6.8%September 2026
Top MMF yield10.46%Madison
Sources: CBK auction, 2 Nov 2026 value date (change vs 26 Oct); CBK key rates; fund managers' published yields, as at 31 Oct 2026.

Prime-Time Sacco Loans 2026: BOSA, FOSA, Boda Boda and Micro Credit Rates (Iten)

Prime-Time Sacco Loans 2026: BOSA, FOSA, Boda Boda and Micro Credit Rates (Iten)

Updated 31 October 2026

Prime-Time DT Sacco, based in Iten, Elgeyo Marakwet County, charges 1% a month on a reducing balance for all its BOSA loans. That covers Development (72 months), School Fees (one calendar year), College/University (24 months), Emergency (12 months) and Karibu (36 months), and each lends up to 4 times your deposits. Its FOSA and micro-credit loans are quoted at flat rates of 1.21% to 1.5% a month, which cost more than they look. Short advances charge 10%. All figures come from Prime-Time Sacco’s BOSA, FOSA and micro-credit product pages, checked on October 31, 2026.

Prime-Time Sacco BOSA loans

Loan Max period Interest Limit
Development Loan 72 months 1% a month, reducing 4x deposits
Karibu Loan 36 months 1% a month, reducing Not stated
College/University Fee Loan 24 months 1% a month, reducing 4x deposits
School Fees Loan 1 calendar year 1% a month, reducing 4x deposits
Emergency Loan 12 months 1% a month, reducing Not stated; other loans must be up to date
BOSA Advance 1 month 10% Not stated
Dividend Advance 3 months 10% Not stated

The Emergency Loan covers unforeseen events such as burials, natural disasters and court orders.

FOSA and micro-credit loans

Loan Max period Rate as quoted
Golden FOSA Loan 36 months 1.35% a month, flat
FOSA Loan 24 months 1.21% a month, flat
Super Salary Advance 3 months 10% a month
Salary Advance 1 month 10%
Micro Credit Loan 24 months 1.5% a month, flat
Boda Boda Loan 24 months 1.5% a month, flat
Water Tank Loan 12 months 1.5% a month, flat
Agri-business Loan 1 calendar year 1.5% a month, flat

Flat vs reducing balance: why it matters here

A flat rate is charged on the full amount you borrowed for the whole term, even as you repay. A reducing-balance rate is charged only on what you still owe. Here is our own estimate, not a Sacco quote, for KSh 200,000 over 24 months:

  • Boda Boda or Micro Credit Loan at 1.5% flat: interest is KSh 72,000 (KSh 3,000 a month for 24 months), so you repay KSh 272,000, or about KSh 11,300 a month.
  • FOSA Loan at 1.21% flat: interest is about KSh 58,100, so about KSh 10,750 a month.
  • College Loan at 1% reducing: interest is about KSh 26,000, so about KSh 9,400 a month.

A 1.5% flat rate over two years costs roughly the same as about 2.6% a month on a reducing balance. If a BOSA loan fits your need, it is much cheaper. Our reducing-balance calculator guide explains the maths.

Which Prime-Time loan to choose

For school or college fees, use the BOSA fee loans at 1% a month on a reducing balance rather than a FOSA loan. For a motorbike, water tank or farm inputs, the micro-credit products are built for the purpose, but compare their flat-rate cost with a Development Loan if you have enough deposits to qualify. Keep the 10% salary and BOSA advances for short gaps of a month or so.

Fixed deposit and savings

Prime-Time also lists a fixed deposit that earns 11% a year for terms of 3 months or more, and a Prime Junior savings account. The interest you earn there sets the bar for any loan you take against those savings.

Contacts

Prime-Time DT Sacco, P.O. Box 512-30700, Iten, Elgeyo Marakwet County. Call 0791 581 694 or 0720 749 009, or email info@primetimesacco.co.ke. The Sacco also has a mobile app. Compare its rates with others in our Sacco loan comparison.

Frequently asked questions

Where is Prime-Time Sacco located?

In Iten, Elgeyo Marakwet County (P.O. Box 512-30700).

Does Prime-Time Sacco give boda boda loans?

Yes, over 24 months at 1.5% a month flat.

What is the Prime-Time Sacco development loan rate?

1% a month on a reducing balance, over up to 72 months, for up to 4 times your deposits.

ShareWhatsAppFacebookXLinkedIn

Get loan, M-Pesa and money rate changes

One short email a week with exam dates, deadlines, job openings and money changes in Kenya.

Topics (optional)

Prefer WhatsApp? Follow Business Radar on WhatsApp

Weekly, free. We only use your email for this newsletter and you can unsubscribe in one click. Privacy policy.

About Author

Norah Waceke is a business journalist and editor at Business Radar with more than eight years of experience covering Kenya's economy, companies and markets. She previously worked at one of Kenya's leading digital news platforms, where she reported on business, finance and current affairs. A graduate of Multimedia University of Kenya, Norah focuses on clear, accurate reporting that helps readers understand the money stories shaping their lives and businesses.

More from Norah Waceke · Editorial policy

Related stories

Guides Opinion

Chuka University Sacco Loans 2026: Development, Housing, Normal and Karibu Loan Rates

Updated 31 October 2026 Home › Opinion › Chuka University Sacco Loans 2026: Development, Housing, Normal… Chuka University Sacco’s cheapest
Guides Opinion

KRB Sacco Loans 2026: Development, Sharia-Compliant and Instant Loan Rates and Rules

Updated 31 October 2026 Home › Opinion › KRB Sacco Loans 2026: Development, Sharia-Compliant and Instant… KRB Sacco, started in
★ Add Business Radar as a preferred source on Google
Latest